Fat Bars- Its an Iowan Thing

I understand that the title is a little deceiving, but when I tell you that these so called Fat Bars are the best, richest and sweetest brownie cake you’ll ever eat, trust me on it.

My Grandmother, RIP, was the best cook in the world. And when she put those baking gloves on, it was heaven in her kitchen. These Fat Bars, were a must have when we would visit Iowa, and still to this day it is the cake I prefer for my birthday. 20 years of tradition and the cake has never lost its touch.

Now how did the name Fat Bars come about? Well, with any classic Iowan dish, there are a lot of calories, in EACH bite. Making it one of the sweetest, most indulgent guilty pleasures around.

Want the recipe? Here you go!


FAT BARS

Ingredients:

2 Cups Flour

2 Cups Sugar

1 Stick Butter

1/2 Cup Shotening

4 T. Cocoa

1 Cup Water

1 Tsp. Baking Soda

1 Tsp. Cinnamon

1/2 Cup Milk + 2 T. Vinegar

1 1/2 Tsp. Vanilla

2 Eggs

Directions:

Mix and boil on low, butter, shortening, cocoa and water.

Mix cinnamon, eggs, sugar, milk and vanilla. Sift in Flour and Baking soda.

Once butter and shortening is all melted, add to dry mixture and mix thoroughly, until you see no lumps.

Pour into greased baking dish and bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes.

Let cake cool until cooled enough for icing

Ingredients for Icing:

1 Stick Butter

4 T. Cocoa

4 T. Milk

Boil these ingredients and add in 1 Tsp. Vanilla and 1 Pound Confectioners Sugar

Spread on warmed cake


Just looking at the ingredients seems like a heart attack inducing dessert. But trust me when I say, its worth every bite. Its even delicious with a scoop of Vanilla ice Cream or a Saturday Morning breakfast treat! Something sweet to start your day!


In response to Prompt Stomp: “Sweet”

17 thoughts on “Fat Bars- Its an Iowan Thing

    1. I don’t know if its the cinnamon thats the Iowan thing or the calories. I think its more the latter! What part of Iowa are you from? My Mothers side of the family is form Iowa so it was my second home growing up! I love it there!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank You Adam. I sure hope you get your exercise while visiting. Energy? Never heard of it. I’ve been running on fumes for 4 years. I’ve got 14 years to go! I think I have some odd spirit taking over me that does all my work for me. I call it Cruise Control. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

