Flesh

Morning approaches an empty day, the sunlight dims under a sky filled with clouds.

Flowing like water.

Kiss me, before I take my flesh away.

With the glass half full and my life half empty, you reach out to me.

With a million words and a million phrases.

While stars fill an unknown sky, you call out my name.

A single tear rolls down my face.

So dim and dark, your eyes peer my way.

I go weak to the sight of everything I’ve come to know.

And a mere flash of light loses control and burns my soul.

While you kiss me one last time as I take my flesh away.


Writing 201: Poetry – Face

One thought on “Flesh

Leave a Reply

