To Write or Not to Write?!

“You don’t actually have to write anything until you’ve thought it out. This is an enormous relief, and you can sit there searching for the point at which the story becomes a toboggan and starts to slide.”
—Marie de Nervaud

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.” — Ernest Hemingway

Sometimes a writer needs to take a break. So what do I do away from my desk? Away from writing?

I am a stay at home mom, so I do lots of housework. Between my husband and the kiddo, I feel like everyday a tornado comes ripping through the house, and the cleaning and picking up is never ending. A mine field of princess toys and size 13 shoes litter the living room come late afternoon, after all of my cleaning is finished. Leaving me standing there, hands on hip, shaking my head. I just vacuumed and put all this crap away and its right back where it was. Am I losing my mind or somehow stuck in this time warp alternate universe where it loops like a broken record? By Wednesday, I want to give up on shuffling the same toys out of the way and putting shoes back on the rack. Talk about a very repetitive job. Dishes? I think I have little gnomes, who at night take all the leftovers in the fridge, eat it all and leave the dishes in the sink. And that’s all I’ll say about that.

When not cleaning up after them, I’m usually hanging out with them. We’ve really enjoyed camping this summer and busting out the board games( I am master of Junior Monopoly, can’t touch this!) The kiddo and I do a lot of activities together from painting, dress-up, singing and dancing and pretty much anything she wants to do. I’m a big kid at heart and nothing makes me happier than seeing the joy in my child’s face when I’m acting a fool. Sometimes my goofiness goes to far and irritates the crap out of her and then all I get is a red-faced kiddo saying ” Mom, you are ridiculous.” …..Story of my life sweetie.

The dog, just another toddler running around the house, is just as needy as the rest of the family. His energy level is sky high and by the end of the day, I have successfully taken him on 2-3 bike rides. And not to the end of the street and back, I mean, zig zagging through town, cutting through at least 1 of the 3 alleys and somehow finding every single dog poop, leaving it irresistible for my dog not to stop and take a quick sniff, yanking me off my bike. One of these days I’m not going to catch myself in time and fall flat on my face. My guilty conscience dog will never want to sniff another poop again.

Besides housework and family life, I am usually reading and researching. Researching how to become a better writer, a better photographer, a better cook, a better DIY’er, a better parent, a better wife, and a better version of myself. I’ve really enjoyed getting to know everyone in the blogsphere, making it hard to leave my desk. My hubby even said ” You’re going to need to upgrade those glasses. You read too much.” …..Wrong. I can’t read enough. I also love my garden, so I putz around in it as often as I can. One of the best places to snap a few pictures and a great excuse to get outside and soak in some Vitamin D.

Writing has not been my strongest skill as of late and using my daily life has added some inspiration to it. Making it easier and giving my story a plot line. So maybe taking a break isn’t so bad after all.

“There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”
—Ernest Hemingway

“Every secret of a writer’s soul, every experience of his life, every quality of his mind, is written large in his works.”
—Virginia Woolf

7 Replies to “To Write or Not to Write?!”

  1. Oh yes, I could easily spend all day vacuuming, too – if it’s not the cat leaving a trail of cat hair behind him, the kiddo will spread crumbs all over the place. Sometimes I wonder if she’s a Cookie Monster in training… But I agree, taking breaks is vital for the writing process. Excellent quotes, too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

