Roadside Attraction

Adam: You can see us without the sheets?

Lydia: Of course I can see you.

Adam: Well, how is it you see us and nobody else can?

Lydia: Well, I’ve read through that handbook for the recently deceased. It says: ‘live people ignore the strange and unusual. I, myself, am strange and unusual.

Barbara: You look like a regular girl to me.

A quote from one of my favorite movies, Beetlejuice. And I can relate to it very well. I’ve always been a little weird. I always saw the beauty in the abstract. I look beyond the face value and see something a little different. I can appreciate the strange and unusual. And as far as I can tell, so does my daughter. She loves to see the weird things. She loves bugs and finds them “cute”. She loves to get dirty and roll around in the mud. She comes up with unique and strange names for her cuddle toys, her friends, and her stories are like out of a sci-fi novel. She and I are the perfect pair.

This weekend we went on a little adventure. Hopped up into the truck and went to a place called The Swetsville Zoo. Its a really neat place, completely made up of scrap metal sculptures. Dinosaurs, bugs, strange creatures and more. Its been around for 30 years, free of charge and right off the Interstate. Great little rest stop if you’re traveling and want to see the weirdness that Colorado has to offer. (For other great and weird events in Colorado go here and here) Here are some photos of The Swetsville Zoo. Enjoy and maybe you will find yourself here one day!

14 Replies to “Roadside Attraction”

      1. Really? Thank you! Much better and more personal? Trying to build followers, but a challenge. Was it hard for you at first? Contemplating my design set up what do you think? Your opinion means a lot πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. I like it. Its clean and neat. Your blog isn’t messy and loud. You’re doing great. Every new blogger has struggle in the beginning. I know you are busy, but think about participating in writing challenges. It’ll boost your inspiration and you’ll meet a lot of other bloggers. Usually with challenges, you link your post back to the original author who set the challenge up. When linking, the other participants will see your blog and you’ll start gaining more followers. The biggest reason I gained followers so fast was taking the time to read, like and comment on other blogs. We love feedback, don’t we? πŸ™‚ Link a Facebook or Twitter that helps too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

